Creating and managing groups in Team chat

A great benefit of team chat is that it enables you to not only have one-on-one conversations with your colleagues but can share information with an entire team by creating a group conversation.

💡Did you know that all users are automatically added to the first group in team chat named #team?

Creating a group conversation

Every user of Trengo can create a team chat group conversation, no matter what role you have. And best of all, there is no limitation on the number of groups you can have, so you can create as many as needed! To do so, take the following steps:

  1. Click on the +-icon next to groups:

     

  2. Fill out the form:

    1. Subject
      Give the group a recognizable subject, clear for all the participants. For instance, if you plan to create groups based on departments, you can give the group the name of that department as a subject
    2. Participants
      Add users to the group here. Search them by name.
    3. Manage participants
      You will automatically be the first participant of the group, as well as the owner of the group. As an owner, you will also be the person who is responsible for managing the group (see below). You can create more owners by switching the owner button next to their name to the right. Added a wrong colleague or a colleague no longer is a member of a team? You can use the X behind their name to remove them from a group.
  3. Click on "Create" to add the group to Trengo
  4. Done: all colleagues in this group can now chat with each other. No worries, you can always adjust this group at a later time.

Managing a group conversation 

When you are the owner of a group conversation, you have the ability to "manage" a group conversation. To check if you are the owner of the group, you can simply click on the three dots icon for all conversational options. In here group owners will see the "manage conversations" button: 

Within the managing of the group, you will have the following options: 

  1. Change Subject
    Adjust the subject to get a clearer description of the purpose of this group chat.
  2. Participants
    Add new users to this group.
  3. Manage participants
    Adjust a user's role in the group by making them an owner or not by switching the owner button. Remove someone from a group by pressing the x button behind their name.
  4. Delete
    Delete the group, for example when the project has finished.